Annual Symposium & PDIF Events

Thursday, December 7, 2023 | 4:00pm – 7:30pm CT at Texas A&M EnMed Tower @ TMC

Please join us for the SouthWest – Midwest National Pediatric Device Innovation Consortium (SWPDC)’s Evening of Pediatric Device Innovation and Annual Business Meeting at the Texas A&M EnMED Tower. This serves as the annual gathering of members, colleagues, and guests for our FDA-supported pediatric device consortium that supports pediatric device innovators throughout the pediatric device life cycle to bring novel pediatric devices to pediatric patients.

Date: Thursday, December 7th, 2023

Time: 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM

Location (In-Person, Free Event):

Texas A&M EnMed Tower

1st floor Auditorium

1020 Holcombe Blvd, Houston, TX 77030

(Southeast corner of Holcombe and Main in the Texas Medical Center)

Public parking is available nearby in the EnMed Horizon Tower Parking Garage, local hotels, and other TMC parking lots.

4:00 pm – Registration / Check-in 

4:30 pm – 5:30 pm– Program

  • Welcome by Texas A&M Engineering and Texas A&M EnMed Leadership
  • Featured speaker presentation – “PDIC, Minnesota’s Medical Alley, and SWPDC – Partnerships to Move Pediatric Device Innovation Forward” Gwen Fischer, MD, FAAP, University of Minnesota / Masonic Children’s Hospital with introduction by Chester Koh, MD, MBA, Executive Director, SWPDC
  • Panel Discussion / Q&A on SWPDC’s Next 5 years – Moderator: Chester Koh, MD, MBA (SWPDC and TCH / BCM); Panel Members: Gwen Fischer, MD, FAAP (U. of Minnesota), Balakrishna Haridas, PhD (TAMU), Richard Willson, PhD (University of Houston), Matthew Wettergreen, PhD (Rice), and Christine Luk, MBE (Proxima)

5:30 pm – 5:45 pm – SWPDC Business Meeting and Annual Update

5:45 pm – 7:00 pm – Networking Reception to follow – Texas A&M EnMed Tower lobby – 1st Floor

Past Symposiums and Speakers

  • 2022: Michael Heffernan PhD – Fannin Innovation Studio
  • 2021: Erika Torjusen, MD, MHS
  • 2020: Dr. John Langell, President, N.E. Ohio Medical University. “Creating an Academic Ecosystem to Drive Innovation, Translation and Commercialization of Disruptive Health Care Solutions”
  • 2019: Rachel Rath
  • 2018: Eric Chen
  • 2017: Dr. Vasum Peiris
  • 2016: Sherry Farrugia
  • 2015: Dr. Peter Kim

%d bloggers like this: